Government Representatives

Find out who your government representatives are for matters within Cessnock City.  Different levels of government look after a range of separate issues and have diverse portfolios. For example, roads might not always be an issue for your local council, as they might be State roads.

The following links provide details about your Federal and State MPs and your local Councillors.

Local Government Representatives – Cessnock City Council

ccclogo government representatives

Cessnock City Council provides a diverse range of services and facilities for the residents of the LGA as well as visitors to the area. Councils across Australia are now responsible for much more than just the three ‘R’s’ – rates, roads and rubbish.

Below are just some of Council’s responsibilities:

  • Waste management and recycling.
  • Land use planning.
  • Cultural services and facilities including libraries and performing arts theatre.
  • Building and development control.
  • Companion animals legislation.
  • Food and public health legislation.
  • Sporting fields and ovals.
  • Parks and gardens, including play equipment.
  • Construction and maintenance of roads, paths, cycle ways and bridges.
  • Economic development.
  • Aquatic leisure facilities.
  • Youth services

More Information on your council representatives.

State – Cessnock Electorate

Cessnock is an electoral district of the Legislative Assembly in the Australian state of New South Wales in the rural fringe of the Hunter. It includes all of Cessnock LGA (including Cessnock and Kurri Kurri), part of Singleton LGA (including Broke and Belford) and a small part of Lake Macquarie (including Barnsley and West Wallsend).

More information on the State Member for Cessnock.

 Federal – Division of Hunter

The Division of Hunter is an Australian electoral division in the state of New South Wales. The division is located in northern rural New South Wales, and encompasses much of the Hunter Region, including the towns of Singleton, Maitland, Muswellbrook, Cessnock and Denman.

More information on the Federal Member for the Hunter.